Just a thought - SRT 10 Manual Tranny in a Hemi? - Hemi Truck Club
 
Go Back   Hemi Truck Club > Technical Forums > Drivetrain, Differential and Transmission

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-26-2007, 10:28 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
ArcticWolf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Castro Valley, CA
Posts: 4,159
Anyone hear of this being done or has done it?

Just curious, playing with the idea...

__________________
......... Yea.. that California Old Fart has RETURNED!!!





ArcticWolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-27-2007, 10:54 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
TheBoss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Kansas City
Posts: 5,440
Garage
Yeah... T-56. Same tranny in the Viper, and same tranny Keisler uses in the 6-speed manual tranny swap for the HEMI Chargers, but still, nobody will do it.

Hemi Shop said they would, and get me a price within the week, but that was months ago. Still waitin' on an answer, and can't seem to get a hold of them.
__________________

"Ability is what you're capable of doing. Motivation determines what you do. Attitude determines how well you do it." - Lou Holtz


TheBoss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2007, 04:00 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
proudhemi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Canton, Georgia
Posts: 2,913
I'd love to do that mod, but it's pretty indepth. I think I could handle the fab work, it's the money that's the problem.
__________________
2004 rc/shtbed Hemi ram..
Modifiications...

Mostly stockish.....

Performance times:
Naturally aspirated
1/8 mile. [email protected]
1/4mile. [email protected]



proudhemi is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-29-2007, 06:16 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
TheBoss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Kansas City
Posts: 5,440
Garage
Fab work isn't the problem. Keisler said they'd do that for me. If I remember right, they even said the bellhousing they have would work... the issue was getting the tranny to talk to the motor so the motor doesn't go into limp mode thinking the tranny blew, aka no tranny behind it. And for those who don't know, that means the motor won't go over 2000rpm.
__________________

"Ability is what you're capable of doing. Motivation determines what you do. Attitude determines how well you do it." - Lou Holtz


TheBoss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2007, 08:28 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
proudhemi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Canton, Georgia
Posts: 2,913
ECM out of a 2500 with a manual tranny will fix that.
__________________
2004 rc/shtbed Hemi ram..
Modifiications...

Mostly stockish.....

Performance times:
Naturally aspirated
1/8 mile. [email protected]
1/4mile. [email protected]



proudhemi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2007, 09:04 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
TheBoss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Kansas City
Posts: 5,440
Garage
If it was that easy, you'd think someone would've done that already. So I dunno. How do you know that'd work?

MOPAR has to have something that'd work, cause what do they do with their crate engines? Not every crate engine application will include a tranny... so how do they make those run??
__________________

"Ability is what you're capable of doing. Motivation determines what you do. Attitude determines how well you do it." - Lou Holtz


TheBoss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2007, 09:07 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
proudhemi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Canton, Georgia
Posts: 2,913
It has been done, just not by anyone that posts on any of the forums that I know of.
__________________
2004 rc/shtbed Hemi ram..
Modifiications...

Mostly stockish.....

Performance times:
Naturally aspirated
1/8 mile. [email protected]
1/4mile. [email protected]



proudhemi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2007, 11:12 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
TheBoss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Kansas City
Posts: 5,440
Garage
Where'd you see it? I can't find anything anywhere, nor any shops that have even HEARD of it done, let alone give it the time of day. Do you know if it works just on the 5.7, or can it be used on the 6.1 and modified motors?
__________________

"Ability is what you're capable of doing. Motivation determines what you do. Attitude determines how well you do it." - Lou Holtz


TheBoss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2007, 11:45 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
proudhemi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Canton, Georgia
Posts: 2,913
I would think it would be able to handle anything you can throw at it within reason. I can't remember where I read it at. But I think it was on DTW a while back. Two people had done it, one was in Cali, and the other was in like north dakota or montana or something. I'll see if I can find it again.
__________________
2004 rc/shtbed Hemi ram..
Modifiications...

Mostly stockish.....

Performance times:
Naturally aspirated
1/8 mile. [email protected]
1/4mile. [email protected]



proudhemi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2007, 01:28 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
TheBoss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Kansas City
Posts: 5,440
Garage
I'd appreciate it cause I'd put all other mods on hold to do this.
__________________

"Ability is what you're capable of doing. Motivation determines what you do. Attitude determines how well you do it." - Lou Holtz


TheBoss is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Premium Vendor Showcase
n2 Speed Edge InTune Edge OCPerformance Parts

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.