Auto Meter, how do I tie in gauge light to existing dash lights? - Hemi Truck Club
 
Go Back   Hemi Truck Club > General Maintenance | Owner Info > Interior and Exterior Detailing

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-19-2010, 05:32 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
tigman250's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Michigan
Posts: 500
Auto Meter, how do I tie in gauge light to existing dash lights?

Hello all, I was wondering how I tie in the light for my Auto Meter gauge light to work with my dash lights? I want it to come on and dim with the factory gauges. In the directions it says it's a Led light will it work if I just tie it in to the lighting circuit or would I need a resistor in line? Also, does anyone know of a online wiring schematic I could use to locate the correct wires?

Thanks!

tigman250 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-19-2010, 11:05 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
CharonBlk07's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 160
Garage
Auto Meter, how do I tie in gauge light to existing dash lights?

I'd pull your light switch and tap into the dimmer line rather than trying to go into the cluster. There should only be 4 lines running in/out of the back of the switch, so get a volt meter and check for passing voltage in each line as you lower the dimmer intensity to determine which line you need.
CharonBlk07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2010, 11:15 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
The Engineer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Bruceton Mills, West Virginia
Posts: 958
Auto Meter, how do I tie in gauge light to existing dash lights?

I'd email autometer. They'll tell you within a day. They sent me a beautiful graph on my Pyrometer gauge on the diesel for wiring.
The Engineer is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-20-2010, 12:37 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
afteamroper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Ellsworth AFB,SD/Helena, MT
Posts: 2,761
Auto Meter, how do I tie in gauge light to existing dash lights?

afteamroper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2010, 11:54 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
madcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Royse City, TX
Posts: 8,558
Auto Meter, how do I tie in gauge light to existing dash lights?

LEDs typically don't "dim"... they are either on, or off. Just tap into any "courtesy light positive wire" circuit for the gauge to follow the dash lights on/off.
madcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Premium Vendor Showcase
n2 Speed Edge InTune Edge OCPerformance Parts

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.