Oil Cooler Thread - Hemi Truck Club

Go Back   Hemi Truck Club > HEMI | Trucks and Special Editions > 4th Generation Ram | 2009 - Present

Like Tree21Likes

Old 06-10-2018, 11:10 AM   #1

Oil Cooler Thread

Office workers chat around a water cooler, us dirty hand guys chat around the oil cooler.

Hi there Hemi Truck Forum! I am part of a group of guys who own Hemi Rams who have been doing some research on lubrication and these 4 gen hemi's. I am sure many of them will register here as well. We have found some things to be helpful to the issues we hemi owners have and we are looking forward to sharing what we know and learn from you guys as well. I have a 2010 SLT 4x4 RCSB and love this vehicle. If I had it to do over again, I likely would have got the 3.92's and a crew cab, but I had no idea that I would like this vehicle as much. This is my second Ram, my first was a Cummins, a little brother to my day job at the time as I was a trucker.

We have found that ester/pao based fluid have been very helpful at quieting hemi tick. In fact, 80% success rate at killing lifter tick. I know it sounds crazy, but we have had over 30 guys run this oil and it killed their tick at an 8 outta 10 clip. I'm sure they will chime in and post video's. We all were frustrated as I am sure you are with this hemi tick when you get it. I myself killed my tick just by switching oil to Redline 5w20 and also 5w30. We also have found some good info on Filtration and have some tests to share. And we have some info on gear fluids and other stuff. We have as a group done many uoa's on many fluids as well. Seams like Pennzoil Ultra Platinum (PUP) that was made with FCA support is actually producing the lowest wear numbers in uoa's. So let's talk oil? Whatcha using?

Burla is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 06-10-2018, 11:20 AM   #2

Thumbs up

To The Hemi Truck Club Family