Engine code reset 2014+ - Hemi Truck Club
 
Go Back   Hemi Truck Club > HEMI | Trucks and Special Editions > 4th Generation Ram | 2009 - Present

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-27-2016, 11:22 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Boise
Posts: 31
Engine code reset 2014+

So I thought I read on here while lurking that the 14 or 15+ Ram 1500's PCM's couldn't be cleared of codes with an OBDII, that you had to bring them back to the dealer to clear codes.

When I went to the dealer service department yesterday, I asked my guy what's up with that and he said that's not true. He said the codes were still clearable by the owner with a simple OBDII, but that the PCM's were locked down for the tuners... Normally dealer service guys are about as reliable as NYC television store sales, but this guy has been accurate in the past and seems like a decent fellow. (I know, rare. )

It's no big deal (yet) I don't have any codes showing, but it would suck to have to bring my '17 back to the dealer because I forgot my gas cap to clear the code!

Qwntm is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-27-2016, 12:46 PM   #2
2012 Truck of the Year
Engine Specialist
 
charged392's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Fort pierce, FL
Posts: 17,196
Garage
Any obd2 scanner will clear and most times read codes also.
__________________
"CMR TUNER" [email protected] 1/4 with a 7.32 1/8 custom long/short bars by "Me" Turbocharged 392 on 9psi S475/96/1.32 . Running thru an A518! [email protected]
charged392 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2016, 04:51 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Boise
Posts: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by charged392 View Post
Any obd2 scanner will clear and most times read codes also.
Yea that's what I thought, but a forum member had a problem with a 2014, I think it was the 3 way coolant valve, and said that he couldn't clear the code after he fixed it and that lead to a discussion of how the 14+ PCM's were locked out.

That conflicted with what the service guy said the other day so I was hoping for confirmation either way.

I could always take my gas cap off and drive around till it threw the code and then see if my scanner clears it, but it would suck if it didn't and I had to take it back to the dealer.
Qwntm is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-27-2016, 05:19 PM   #4
2012 Truck of the Year
Engine Specialist
 
charged392's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Fort pierce, FL
Posts: 17,196
Garage
That's tad extreme I work on cars all day long and have yet to have an issue with clearing a code with a handheld or better scanner on any vehicle. Tuning them is an entire diff ball game.
__________________
"CMR TUNER" [email protected] 1/4 with a 7.32 1/8 custom long/short bars by "Me" Turbocharged 392 on 9psi S475/96/1.32 . Running thru an A518! [email protected]
charged392 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2016, 05:56 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
hemiram13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Casselberry, FL
Posts: 648
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by charged392 View Post
That's tad extreme I work on cars all day long and have yet to have an issue with clearing a code with a handheld or better scanner on any vehicle. Tuning them is an entire diff ball game.
That's what I'm saying. I've never heard of this in my life...
__________________
2013 RC Express HEMI

hemiram13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2016, 10:04 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Boise
Posts: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by hemiram13 View Post
That's what I'm saying. I've never heard of this in my life...
Yea, sounded kinda wrong to me too, and wouldn't you know it, now I can't find the thread where I thought I read that.

Nevermind...
Qwntm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2016, 04:43 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
hemiram13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Casselberry, FL
Posts: 648
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by Qwntm View Post
Yea, sounded kinda wrong to me too, and wouldn't you know it, now I can't find the thread where I thought I read that.

Nevermind...
I remember the thread your talking about with the coolant valve but when you have a type A code such as that, you can clear it as many times as you want. But if the problem isn't fixed the code is just going to reset immediately.
__________________
2013 RC Express HEMI

hemiram13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2016, 07:24 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Boise
Posts: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by hemiram13 View Post
I remember the thread your talking about with the coolant valve but when you have a type A code such as that, you can clear it as many times as you want. But if the problem isn't fixed the code is just going to reset immediately.
Ahh, that makes sense, and I'm glad I am not imagining things. Thanks!
Qwntm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2016, 04:32 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
hemiram13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Casselberry, FL
Posts: 648
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by Qwntm View Post
Ahh, that makes sense, and I'm glad I am not imagining things. Thanks!
__________________
2013 RC Express HEMI

hemiram13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Premium Vendor Showcase
n2 Speed Edge InTune Edge OCPerformance Parts

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.