Swapped PCM to try and troubleshoot an issue and now.... - Page 8 - Hemi Truck Club
 
Go Back   Hemi Truck Club > HEMI | Performance Zone > Engine | Modifications, Repairs and Performance

Like Tree17Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-15-2019, 02:25 PM   #71
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Deltona
Posts: 36
Apologies for the delay. I was out of town for a couple of days.

I swapped the TIPM with no changes. I will test voltage at the ASD and coils and report back.

theboz001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-15-2019, 06:19 PM   #72
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Deltona
Posts: 36
Tested the voltage at the ASD relay. 12.6V key on engine off on terminal 30 of the relay. 0 volts on terminal 87. 14.2V engine running at terminals 30 and 87.

Coil #1 had 14.2V engine running.

While we had the intake snorkle off I had my son try putting it in gear with a little pedal pressure so I could watch the throttle body. We got lucky and it acted up. The butterfly was cycling back and forth while he had steady pressure on the pedal. Voltages at coil #1 and the ASD relays were just as stated above.
theboz001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2019, 07:30 PM   #73
Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: n/a
Posts: 94
Are you still getting a low asd voltage signal on the scanner?
mikespeed6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-16-2019, 05:08 AM   #74
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Deltona
Posts: 36
Yes, the ASD signal has not changed either.

While I had my son available to assist he was raising the idle in gear while I was shaking the wiring harnesses by the back of the engine and near the PCM to see if it would indicate a poor connection. Nothing I touched made any difference.
theboz001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2019, 06:53 PM   #75
Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: n/a
Posts: 94
When you are doing your voltage tests ate you using the computer ground or the engine block?
mikespeed6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2019, 03:14 PM   #76
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: concord
Posts: 440
Subscribed...����
smith92rc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2019, 07:50 PM   #77
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Deltona
Posts: 36
I was using the body ground. I will see if I can find which wire is the computer ground for the APPS sensor.
theboz001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2019, 08:11 PM   #78
Greg
 
Redtruck-VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Virginia
Posts: 19,233
Garage
Years ago I built my own harness and cross connected the pcm "clean" ground with chassis ground. I also added an external ground wire connecting pcm, heads, TB with cab and chassis ground on fender. Bed to chassis also has additional ground plus solid engine mounts. Do I recommend going to this extreme? .... no... but I don't have ground issues. Everything is grounded to a single plane with no voltage differences. Besides I wouldn't know how to restore the isolated clean ground... lol
__________________
2003 RCSB, 2wd, "Pro-Street"
6.4L/cog driven V7-Ysi/46rh trans/HTH Truckarm coilover suspension. HP Tuning...

1956 Jeep Willys Pickup Hemi powered "Street Rod project"

1# 2017 HTC FASTEST HEMI List....
Current 1/4 mile [email protected] (2018)
Current 60' PB 1.351 (2019) mechanical issue for 1/4m

HTC 2018 TOTY

Support vehicle- 2007 QC G56 4x4 diesel
Redtruck-VA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2019, 12:34 AM   #79
Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: n/a
Posts: 94
Im just reaching for answers at this point since I cant get there to help. It just feels like a ground issue or possibly losing the crank signal at that rpm/load. Where does the crank signal come from? Flex plate or harmonic balancer?
mikespeed6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2019, 08:00 AM   #80
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Deltona
Posts: 36
I believe the crank signal comes from a tone ring on the crank itself. The sensor goes into the block on the passenger side.

I do have additional grounds running to the TB, 1 coil on each the passenger and driver side and one from the battery to body. This is in addition to the factory straps on the back of both heads and the one from the engine to frame on the drivers side. I have checked for voltage drop across all of them and found none.
ric3xrt likes this.
theboz001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Premium Vendor Showcase
n2 Speed Edge InTune Edge OCPerformance Parts

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.