Swapped PCM to try and troubleshoot an issue and now.... - Page 2 - Hemi Truck Club
 
Go Back   Hemi Truck Club > HEMI | Performance Zone > Engine | Modifications, Repairs and Performance

Like Tree2Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-22-2019, 06:03 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
ric3xrt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Trumbauersville
Posts: 2,672
Garage
I'm wondering if there isn't a ABS sensor going bad....

__________________
05 GTxtreme [email protected] , Not bad for a 392Ci NA 4400 lbs truck ,
04 SLT ...Give me some time I just bought it.
ric3xrt is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-22-2019, 06:30 AM   #12
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Deltona
Posts: 12
I had been doing some reading online and found where someone else had a similar problem and their Superchips actually resolved it. I reverted the diablo tune back to stock and used the Superchips tuner to do a tire size change. The first time I tried it came back with an error about the ABS module not being found. I turned the key off and back on, the second time it worked and turned off the blinking ABS light. Changed the tire size back to stock, ABS light still out.

Drove it around a little and the surge/hesitation is still there. Reinstalled the custom tune and the ABS light is still out. Checked for codes and there are none.

Evidently there is a difference between how Superchips and Diablo do tire size adjustments. At least I am back where I started.

Now to try and figure out why it's hesitating/surging. I tried cleaning all of the ground connections under the hood but that didn't help. Verified 5V signal at the APPS sensor. Tried three different APPS sensors and it has the issue with each. Checked for vacuum leaks and found none.

Time to dig into the wiring harness..
Redtruck-VA and ric3xrt like this.
theboz001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2019, 12:59 PM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: n/a
Posts: 82
Is it a engine hesitation or a transmission engagement hesitation? When did the problem first occur? Was anything else done at the same time when it first occurred?
mikespeed6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-01-2019, 06:02 PM   #14
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Deltona
Posts: 12
It's an engine hesitation with an occassional miss & stall. Watching the replay of the data logging it looks like the APPS signal changes all over the place at slight pedal pressure. This in turn makes the throttle body % open bounce around.

It doesn't do it at all when in Open Loop (cold), seems to get worse as the engine warms up. I have tried three different APPS sensors, checked all the wiring and cannot find anything wrong.

No codes, not even a pending code after it misses several times in a row.

Attached is an excerpt of one of the data logs showing the pedal position and throttle body positions changing. I don't believe I am moving the pedal when it starts doing this. In fact, I try to keep it steady and keep it acting up in hope it will actually set a code.

I would appreciate any suggestions.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg datalog.jpg (60.9 KB, 5 views)
theboz001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2019, 02:09 AM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: n/a
Posts: 82
Try cleaning your throttle body. If its got any carbon built up that can cause what you're describing without throwing a code.
mikespeed6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2019, 08:45 AM   #16
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Deltona
Posts: 12
I have already done that. Actually, swapped between three cleaned throttle bodies and new gaskets between it and the intake.
theboz001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2019, 09:58 AM   #17
Queen Kima - Whemi BOD
 
Mrs.Studmuffin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Denison, TX
Posts: 10,294
__________________
.
Not everyone can be queen.....there has to be someone standing on the curb to wave as I go by.
.

Mrs.Studmuffin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2019, 12:39 PM   #18
Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: n/a
Posts: 82
Did it happen with the 04 ECM?
mikespeed6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2019, 02:09 PM   #19
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Deltona
Posts: 12
Yes, just not as noticable.
theboz001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2019, 04:59 PM   #20
Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: n/a
Posts: 82
Does the 04 use a Mass air flow sensor or a map sensor? I dont remember...An over oiled air filter can play hell with mass air flow sensors.
mikespeed6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Premium Vendor Showcase
n2 Speed Edge InTune Edge OCPerformance Parts

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:42 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.