Probably swapping engines. What should I improve? - Hemi Truck Club

Go Back   Hemi Truck Club > HEMI | Performance Zone > Engine | Modifications, Repairs and Performance

Like Tree2Likes

Old 04-08-2020, 09:46 PM   #1

Probably swapping engines. What should I improve?

So it looks like I'll be replacing the engine in my 2011 2500 5.7 Hemi truck.

The lifter failed and took out my cam. I know this is a thing whcih is a bummer.

That said, Ill likely be ordering either a long block (reman) and buying a new intake manifold and some other components.

But while I'm at it, are there any things I can do to improve the performance or longevity of the engine?

I work in the building industry and put a LOT of moles on my truck. Around 40K a year. So this truck will hit 300 k likely within the next 3-4 years. Anything I can do to imporve fuel economy would help. Right now I am getting about 10 city, 13 highway.

The truck has always been a bit of a pig. Not making any real usable power until well into the mid 3000 rpm range. When I'm hauling a trailer load of cinder block, that does not help matters. Also when I'm towing building materials, it gets about 7-8 mpg.

So anything I can do to free up that engine to make a little mor elow end grunt and/or get a little better mileage would be helpful.

One thing to note is, I'm not looking for huge gains. Just a little help would be nice. I don't want to have to take it to a tuner and have a miracle worker do what I'm sure is a fine job. but I would be open to a dash tuner if that may help.

Thanks in advance for any recomendations.

bwortman84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 04-09-2020, 01:19 PM   #2
Greg

Garage
Since this is a work truck if it was me I'd fix it meaning replace the cam and lifters. Throw a oil pump and timing chain in to the mix, clean the pan and button it up.. Now if it is a special love of my life truck then throw a stroker motor at it...