Oil Pressure Gauge - Hemi Truck Club
 
Go Back   Hemi Truck Club > HEMI | Performance Zone > Engine | Modifications, Repairs and Performance

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-25-2010, 11:35 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
Raminator157's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Essex Jct, VT
Posts: 106
Oil Pressure Gauge

So this has happened to me 4 times now. When I start my truck. My oil pressure gauge reads nothing, says low. Doesn't move at all. The truck runs very good. No skips. Check Gauge light is on. So if I shut the truck off and turn it back on, the gauge reads normal. I am confused. I asked on another forum, and they said to check the sending unit. Where do I find the sending unit?

Raminator157 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-25-2010, 12:34 PM   #2
Board of Directors (Jay)
 
Superjay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Isle of Palms, SC
Posts: 43,454
Oil Pressure Gauge

Quote:
quote:Where do I find the sending unit?
Right above the oil filter.
Superjay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2010, 06:35 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
MDSBigPaPa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Lima, NY
Posts: 5,052
Oil Pressure Gauge

Quote:
quote:Originally posted by Raminator157:
So this has happened to me 4 times now. When I start my truck. My oil pressure gauge reads nothing, says low. Doesn't move at all. The truck runs very good. No skips. Check Gauge light is on. So if I shut the truck off and turn it back on, the gauge reads normal. I am confused. I asked on another forum, and they said to check the sending unit. Where do I find the sending unit?
I've had the same problem. In fact, I had a manual oil pressure gauge installed to see if it was an electrical issue. First time the dealership replaced the sending unit.

The second time the manual pressure gauge read 20 and normally it reads about 40-45 the dealership replaced the Oil Pressure Switch.
MDSBigPaPa is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-20-2010, 04:31 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Hammi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Farmington, NY
Posts: 398
Oil Pressure Gauge

I have the same problem now on my 05. Wonder if this happens alot?
Hammi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2010, 09:23 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
avdoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Between what was, and what will be!!
Posts: 168
Oil Pressure Gauge

It must, my 05 just started that too.
avdoc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2010, 09:30 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Rockford, Illinois
Posts: 77
Oil Pressure Gauge

My '04 was doing this. I just bought a new oil pressure sensor (along with a special socket) from autozone. It was cheap and fixed it right up!
downonmonday is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Premium Vendor Showcase
n2 Speed Edge InTune Edge OCPerformance Parts

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.