05 pcm swap No throttle response - Hemi Truck Club
 
Go Back   Hemi Truck Club > HEMI | Performance Zone > Engine | Modifications, Repairs and Performance

Like Tree10Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-12-2019, 03:40 PM   #1
Member
 
Waylon5.7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 95
05 pcm swap No throttle response

I just got like the 11th pcm to try and all have failed. I plugged this one in and started it up and of course it’s going to act a little funny because I have a 273 cam. But I started it up 5 different time and no throttle response whatsoever. I’m lost??

Waylon5.7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-12-2019, 06:03 PM   #2
Greg
 
Redtruck-VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Virginia
Posts: 19,002
Garage
I don't think this has anything to do with the pcm swap. Stick your 03 pcm back in and start it up. My money says you will still have no throttle.
__________________
2003 RCSB, 2wd, "Pro-Street"
6.4L/cog driven V7-Ysi/46rh trans/HTH Truckarm coilover suspension. HP Tuning...

1# 2017 HTC FASTEST HEMI List....
Current 1/4 mile [email protected] (2018)
Current 60' PB 1.351 (2019) mechanical issue for 1/4m

HTC 2018 TOTY

Support vehicle- 2007 QC G56 4x4 diesel
Redtruck-VA is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2019, 08:48 PM   #3
Chris
 
YeahItsAHemi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Warren, Ohio
Posts: 2,103
Did you finally get the skim figured out? What about something really obvious like the throttle body being unplugged? None of the swap wiring should of effected the throttle body.
Redtruck-VA likes this.
__________________
2003 QCSB "The Mutt"-392 Manley Stroker-Inertia Cam
Eagle Heads and Intake Manifold-
46RE-CRT Billet Manual Valvebody-Edge 3200 convertor
4.56 and Detroit TruTrac-Custom Morimoto Projector Headlights
Tuned by Charged392
Tons of Pics https://www.flickr.com/photos/[email protected]/albums
YeahItsAHemi is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-13-2019, 12:00 AM   #4
Greg
 
Redtruck-VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Virginia
Posts: 19,002
Garage
I forgot about your skim nightmare, but Chris is right. The swap has nothing to do with the TB. Are you using the original 03 remote mounted APPS?
__________________
2003 RCSB, 2wd, "Pro-Street"
6.4L/cog driven V7-Ysi/46rh trans/HTH Truckarm coilover suspension. HP Tuning...

1# 2017 HTC FASTEST HEMI List....
Current 1/4 mile [email protected] (2018)
Current 60' PB 1.351 (2019) mechanical issue for 1/4m

HTC 2018 TOTY

Support vehicle- 2007 QC G56 4x4 diesel
Redtruck-VA is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2019, 05:00 AM   #5
Member
 
Waylon5.7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 95
I keep ordering these from flagship one and keith just told me they send me another one with a 2003 base file. This time I didn’t worry about giving them my vin, it was screwing me up, they kept sending 03s. So this time I gave them a 05 vin number. They apparently flash it according to the vin.
Waylon5.7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2019, 09:02 AM   #6
Greg
 
Redtruck-VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Virginia
Posts: 19,002
Garage
Sounds like you have spent a lot of money to have nothing more than a junk yard pcm with a mismatch vin. Damn!
I maybe reading into some of the verbage online thats unintended. But it seems there is some language that is very close with different meaning. 1. flash vin to a pcm seems to mean the whole vin related software package. Which is the loop you seem to be stuck in. And then, install the vin number which has a feel of they have pcm's ready to go standing by that only need mileage and vin installed. How it is done probably has to do with what equipment they have. The better quality shop flashing the vin package and the smaller kitchen shop having pcm's already programed that they just install the vin. B&G will install your mileage and 03 vin in a 05 programed pcm. This I know for certain. I have one.. with this said I still feel it comes down to communication and making sure they do what you want them to do. If they say we can't do that then move onto the next one on your list.
bada44, SUPER BEE and YeahItsAHemi like this.
__________________
2003 RCSB, 2wd, "Pro-Street"
6.4L/cog driven V7-Ysi/46rh trans/HTH Truckarm coilover suspension. HP Tuning...

1# 2017 HTC FASTEST HEMI List....
Current 1/4 mile [email protected] (2018)
Current 60' PB 1.351 (2019) mechanical issue for 1/4m

HTC 2018 TOTY

Support vehicle- 2007 QC G56 4x4 diesel
Redtruck-VA is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2019, 08:37 AM   #7
Member
 
Waylon5.7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 95
Quote:
Originally Posted by Redtruck-VA View Post
I forgot about your skim nightmare, but Chris is right. The swap has nothing to do with the TB. Are you using the original 03 remote mounted APPS?
I haven’t changed anything like that
Waylon5.7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2019, 08:42 AM   #8
Member
 
Waylon5.7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 95
Quote:
Originally Posted by Redtruck-VA View Post
Sounds like you have spent a lot of money to have nothing more than a junk yard pcm with a mismatch vin. Damn!
I maybe reading into some of the verbage online thats unintended. But it seems there is some language that is very close with different meaning. 1. flash vin to a pcm seems to mean the whole vin related software package. Which is the loop you seem to be stuck in. And then, install the vin number which has a feel of they have pcm's ready to go standing by that only need mileage and vin installed. How it is done probably has to do with what equipment they have. The better quality shop flashing the vin package and the smaller kitchen shop having pcm's already programed that they just install the vin. B&G will install your mileage and 03 vin in a 05 programed pcm. This I know for certain. I have one.. with this said I still feel it comes down to communication and making sure they do what you want them to do. If they say we can't do that then move onto the next one on your list.
I thought about that but I just bought another eBay one with the AI file and an 05 vin maybe it will work this time now that I’ve removed the skim
Waylon5.7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2019, 08:42 AM   #9
Member
 
Waylon5.7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 95
Quote:
Originally Posted by YeahItsAHemi View Post
Did you finally get the skim figured out? What about something really obvious like the throttle body being unplugged? None of the swap wiring should of effected the throttle body.
TB is plugged in. It’s always something haha
Waylon5.7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2019, 04:19 PM   #10
Greg
 
Redtruck-VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Virginia
Posts: 19,002
Garage
So are you up and running or still have a problem?
__________________
2003 RCSB, 2wd, "Pro-Street"
6.4L/cog driven V7-Ysi/46rh trans/HTH Truckarm coilover suspension. HP Tuning...

1# 2017 HTC FASTEST HEMI List....
Current 1/4 mile [email protected] (2018)
Current 60' PB 1.351 (2019) mechanical issue for 1/4m

HTC 2018 TOTY

Support vehicle- 2007 QC G56 4x4 diesel
Redtruck-VA is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Premium Vendor Showcase
n2 Speed Edge InTune Edge OCPerformance Parts

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.