Radio comes on with no sound - Hemi Truck Club
 
Go Back   Hemi Truck Club > Technical Forums > General Repair Forum

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-13-2018, 06:01 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
HEMI COMMANDER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Auburn, Georgia
Posts: 861
Radio comes on with no sound

OK so I have a problem with my radio. Today I got in my truck and moved 20 feet radio worked fine, got in the truck 30 minutes later and no sound from the radio. I tried switching to the hard drive still now sound so next step was to stream music via Bluetooth and guess what still no sound 😭😭😠😠😠. Can anyone shed some light on how to fix this.

__________________
GO DAWGS GO

RIP Commander RIP!

New Ride
2011 1500 SLT-Satellite Radio, Nitto Terra GrapplerTires... Working on MODS

HEMI COMMANDER is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-13-2018, 06:46 PM   #2
2012 Truck of the Year
Engine Specialist
 
charged392's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Fort pierce, FL
Posts: 17,273
Garage
Check the radio amplifier fuse
__________________
"CMR TUNER" [email protected] 1/4 with a 7.32 1/8 custom long/short bars by "Me" Turbocharged 392 on 9psi S475/96/1.32 . Running thru an A518! [email protected]
charged392 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2018, 07:53 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
HEMI COMMANDER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Auburn, Georgia
Posts: 861
I checked the only fuse which is a 30amp it looked fine. I have also learned that at full volume and ear next to speaker you can hear a very faint sound
__________________
GO DAWGS GO

RIP Commander RIP!

New Ride
2011 1500 SLT-Satellite Radio, Nitto Terra GrapplerTires... Working on MODS

HEMI COMMANDER is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-13-2018, 09:05 PM   #4
James
 
DakotaJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Space Coast
Posts: 1,489
Garage
Sounds like the amplifier itself has went out. I had that happen in my truck. Went to the junk yard and pulled one out of a Durango.
__________________
04, QC Dakota, 6.4 Stroker, SharaDon Stage III, 4.7 PCM, Diablosport Tuned, FTI TC 3200 stall, manuel TB, k&n cai, 180 stat., 3.55 LSD

DakotaJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2018, 09:09 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
HEMI COMMANDER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Auburn, Georgia
Posts: 861
That is what I was thinking happened but was wondering if there was a way to test it.
__________________
GO DAWGS GO

RIP Commander RIP!

New Ride
2011 1500 SLT-Satellite Radio, Nitto Terra GrapplerTires... Working on MODS

HEMI COMMANDER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2018, 03:55 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
HEMI COMMANDER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Auburn, Georgia
Posts: 861
So I have found that I do have sound now but very crappy and radio has to be turned way up in order to hear it. I know very little about car audio so is there an easy way to replace the amp with an aftermarket one? I assume that the factory amp is shot.
__________________
GO DAWGS GO

RIP Commander RIP!

New Ride
2011 1500 SLT-Satellite Radio, Nitto Terra GrapplerTires... Working on MODS

HEMI COMMANDER is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Premium Vendor Showcase
n2 Speed Edge InTune Edge OCPerformance Parts

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.