Drive Plate to Torque Converter bolt torque? - Hemi Truck Club
 
Go Back   Hemi Truck Club > Technical Forums > General Repair Forum

Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By vvbrad09
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-10-2017, 09:01 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Monroe
Posts: 33
Drive Plate to Torque Converter bolt torque?

I have a 2011 Ram 2500 5.7 4x4 slt automatic. After I reinstalled my engine I was tightening up the 4 bolts that connect the Drive Plate to Torque Converter and the last one broke off. I was wondering if someone could tell me the proper torque for these 4 bolts and if there is a certain order or steps to use when installing. I will hopefully have the broken one out tomorrow and would really like to avoid this happening again. Thanks

vvbrad09 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-11-2017, 02:49 AM   #2
Greg
 
Redtruck-VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Virginia
Posts: 19,102
Garage
What I see is 35ftlbs. with locktite. I'm pretty sure I did mine at 65ftlbs with new bolts. At such a low torque I suspect the locktite is the key factor.
__________________
2003 RCSB, 2wd, "Pro-Street"
6.4L/cog driven V7-Ysi/46rh trans/HTH Truckarm coilover suspension. HP Tuning...

1956 Jeep Pickup Hemi powered "Street Rod project"

1# 2017 HTC FASTEST HEMI List....
Current 1/4 mile [email protected] (2018)
Current 60' PB 1.351 (2019) mechanical issue for 1/4m

HTC 2018 TOTY

Support vehicle- 2007 QC G56 4x4 diesel
Redtruck-VA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2017, 08:26 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Monroe
Posts: 33
Okay thanks, what I found online was 65 for the transmission I have and 35 or 40 for the other 2 transmission models. But when I was trying to get to 65 the bolt broke and felt like that was way tighter than when I removed them. Think I will just do the 35 or 40 this time.
vvbrad09 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-11-2017, 02:39 PM   #4
2012 Truck of the Year
Engine Specialist
 
charged392's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Fort pierce, FL
Posts: 17,270
Garage
The torque converter to flexplate bolts are 23 ftlbs
__________________
"CMR TUNER" [email protected] 1/4 with a 7.32 1/8 custom long/short bars by "Me" Turbocharged 392 on 9psi S475/96/1.32 . Running thru an A518! [email protected]
charged392 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2017, 07:32 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Monroe
Posts: 33
Okay thanks, got them in and didn't break this time. Got everything put back together now.
vvbrad09 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2018, 06:11 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Madoyster2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Smyrna
Posts: 119
I'm in the process of doing the same thing and for the life of me I can't figure out how to get these 4 bolts in. Is there some kind of access area? I'm about to cut the thin metal gasket thing
Madoyster2003 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2018, 06:23 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
FASTHEMIRAM05's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 2,358
Quote:
Originally Posted by Madoyster2003 View Post
I'm in the process of doing the same thing and for the life of me I can't figure out how to get these 4 bolts in. Is there some kind of access area? I'm about to cut the thin metal gasket thing
There should be a small access window per say on the drivers side of the trans
__________________
Modern Performance Engineering
Had 2002 4.7 RCSB 14.2
Had 2011 RCSB 12.41
Had 2012 RCSB 13.99
Had 2016 QCSB 13.0
2011 Drag Truck....

FASTHEMIRAM05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2018, 09:05 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Madoyster2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Smyrna
Posts: 119
That's what I was thinking however its blocked by that plate. I just yanked the trans and engine to see if that will make life easier.
Madoyster2003 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2018, 05:50 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Monroe
Posts: 33
there is a bracket/plate between oil pan and trans, should be held on by like 6 bolts if i remember right. once you remove that plate just keep rotating engine to get all 4 bolts out.
ric3xrt likes this.
vvbrad09 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
bolt, engine, torque, transmission

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Premium Vendor Showcase
n2 Speed Edge InTune Edge OCPerformance Parts

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.