O2 Sim Install - Hemi Truck Club
 
Go Back   Hemi Truck Club > HEMI | Performance Zone > Exhaust | Mufflers. Tips and Headers

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-21-2010, 05:53 PM   #1
Member
 
Heywood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 64
O2 Sim Install

Got my O2 sim installed and it's for real. I take my time with wiring projects to get them right and make them look clean so it probably took longer than most. I will say that finding the right wires was a pita. This attached may help future installers as their instructions are generic. The way mfgr's hide all the wiring nowadays it was difficult to find a keyed +12v. I stared at the fuse box for a while trying to figure out how to tap into an unused slot but it was more work than it was worth.

Heywood is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-21-2010, 06:04 PM   #2
Director Emeritus
 
MrHemi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Western NC
Posts: 40,856
Garage
O2 Sim Install

Good info! Thanks for sharing this with our members
MrHemi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2010, 07:12 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: DFW, TX
Posts: 118
O2 Sim Install

i'm curious to see if this is a permanent solution, i was told by someone who makes the 02 sims for older dodges that newer dodges, especially the hemi, will throw a code after it realizes that the 02 sim is there. the pcm knows that the sim is there because it shows a constant voltage is what i heard. the 02 sensors in the newer vehicles go through a test sequence and e sims don't allow that test to happen. so after a while, from what i was told, the CEL will be on.
bighemitex is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-22-2010, 09:39 AM   #4
Member
 
Heywood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 64
O2 Sim Install

Watching the sim thru diag software it does not show constant voltage and IIRC varies w/ throttle response. It does however show Closed Loop Mode first thing when starting up cold, so it never enters Open loop until warmed up.
Heywood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2010, 08:08 AM   #5
Member
 
Heywood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 64
O2 Sim Install

Well this last week I threw another P0430 code, which I thought was pretty impossible with the O2 sim installed. So far they've only returned 1 email and it was pretty thin. We'll see.
Heywood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2010, 08:24 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: DFW, TX
Posts: 118
O2 Sim Install

i guess this confirms what i heard. electrical sims won't work in a hemi. only mechanical sims or custom tunes for us
bighemitex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2010, 10:55 AM   #7
Member
 
Heywood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 64
O2 Sim Install

I'm still holding out hope they can resolve this.
Heywood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2010, 11:07 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: DFW, TX
Posts: 118
O2 Sim Install

i heard from a reliable source it's not possible. i investigated this option a while back because i was worried when i do my header install i will get a CEL and all my research said these electric sims won't work on a newer pcm. they don't allow the OBD2 test to work on either pre start up or post start up(i can't remember which one it was)
bighemitex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2010, 12:28 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
HemiCane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Lantana, FL
Posts: 173
O2 Sim Install

I've had mechanical sims for a couple years now and don't have any problems.
HemiCane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2010, 04:53 PM   #10
Member
 
Heywood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 64
O2 Sim Install

Quote:
quote:I've had mechanical sims for a couple years now and don't have any problems.
By mechanical, you're using the anti foulers w/ steel wool?
Heywood is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Premium Vendor Showcase
n2 Speed Edge InTune Edge OCPerformance Parts

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.