Can u tell me why? - Hemi Truck Club
 
Go Back   Hemi Truck Club > HEMI | Performance Zone > Exhaust | Mufflers. Tips and Headers

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-16-2010, 05:56 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Nunn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: El Paso, TX
Posts: 427
Can u tell me why?

Why does it feel like I lost horsepower/tq when I put on a new exhaust. It sounds really great, but my tranny is more sensitive on shifting. when driving on the freeway, it downshifts on the slightest incline now. My gas mileage is going down. I've been trying to be light on the foot bc the drone is bad right now.

I haven't put anything on after the muffler yet... will that make a difference in the feel?

Please help, and thank you in advance

Nunn is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-16-2010, 06:27 PM   #2
Board of Directors
 
HemiByrd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Draffenville, KY
Posts: 25,097
Garage
Can u tell me why?

My guess is the PCM needs to learn the new exhaust data. You might try resetting the PCM or just disconnect the truck battery negative cable for about 20 minutes.
HemiByrd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2010, 08:36 PM   #3
Member
 
Luvmyhemi04's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Montevallo, Alabama
Posts: 60
Can u tell me why?

I agree. PCM.
Luvmyhemi04 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-16-2010, 08:46 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Nunn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: El Paso, TX
Posts: 427
Can u tell me why?

disconnecting it will reset it all? cuz I don't have a tuner yet
Nunn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2010, 10:51 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
raceram9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: ST. MARYS, GA
Posts: 1,870
Can u tell me why?

no need for a tunner, the pcm will relearn everything together should see a difference
raceram9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2010, 11:37 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
madcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Royse City, TX
Posts: 8,558
Can u tell me why?

give it time... our PCMs (as with most new vehicles) are adaptive learning. They learn new mods over time, and even your driving habits. Within the next couple hundred miles you will notice power levels come back up.
madcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2010, 09:52 AM   #7
Mopower or no Power!!
 
3rd Strike Performance's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Sikeston, MO
Posts: 2,221
Can u tell me why?

Might want to check and make sure your O2 sensor didn't get damaged or the wires melted also....
3rd Strike Performance is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2010, 05:07 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Nunn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: El Paso, TX
Posts: 427
Can u tell me why?

I didn't put any headers on yet... and when I do, I'm gonna change them, just to make sure things are good!!!
Nunn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2010, 06:14 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Nunn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: El Paso, TX
Posts: 427
Can u tell me why?

Did it and fixed it!!! Thanks for the help!
Nunn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2010, 06:19 PM   #10
Board of Directors
 
HemiByrd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Draffenville, KY
Posts: 25,097
Garage
Can u tell me why?

HemiByrd is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Premium Vendor Showcase
n2 Speed Edge InTune Edge OCPerformance Parts

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.