what size is sts turbo - Hemi Truck Club
 
Go Back   Hemi Truck Club > HEMI | Performance Zone > Induction | Super Chargers, Turbo & Air Intakes

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-04-2007, 02:32 PM   #1
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 116
what size is sts turbo

im looking for a turbo and im trying to find the 1 in the sts kit but i dont know the size and everything if some1 could help me out on finding some used piping for it and a turbo that would help

DODGER 03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-04-2007, 02:56 PM   #2
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,440
what size is sts turbo

It the Garett equivalent to a T4 but they won't say exactly what T4 is it. But rememeber, STS undersizes it. And the GT-67 upgrade is way too big unless you run between 10-15 psi.
1FASTV8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2007, 05:26 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Cary, NC
Posts: 873
what size is sts turbo

The base is a T60-1. The upgrade is the GT67. The GT67 is a 67 mm compressor wheel (750 chp) on a P trim turbine (76 trim). Both use a .96 AR.

I have run both with my 5.7. The T60-1 spools up a TAD faster but the GT67 makes more power even at 8 and 9psi and runs cooler EGT's. For stock engines with stock gears and converters I recommend the T60-1. If you have gears and a converter then the GT67 will spool up pretty darn quick.
hemifever is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-04-2007, 05:43 PM   #4
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,440
what size is sts turbo

If you look at a compressor map, the gt-67 is too big unless you can run more boost and get the engine to take in more air.
1FASTV8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2007, 05:47 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Cary, NC
Posts: 873
what size is sts turbo

These hemi engines are pushing the air through. They flow like a formula 1 car. In most cases, I'd agree on the GT67 comment but having run both turbo's, I know what it does on this engine and it performs very well. The engine flow on this CI engine might be deceiving.
hemifever is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2007, 05:48 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Cary, NC
Posts: 873
what size is sts turbo

And if you have a link to a GT67 compressor map shoot it over cuz I've been trying to find one. The GT67 is supposed to be a "custom STS" thing for their kits.
hemifever is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2007, 06:14 PM   #7
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,440
what size is sts turbo

It's not custom, everyone can get them from a Garett distributor. You have to size it up on like turbo calculator. You will have to know what boost and rpm range in what gears plus all the cfm numbers.
1FASTV8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2007, 06:31 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
kenihemi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Central East Coast
Posts: 2,369
what size is sts turbo

I think STS only has the GT turbos modified to handle the turbo surge with no damage.
kenihemi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2007, 08:19 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Cary, NC
Posts: 873
what size is sts turbo

The T60-1 has been taking our engines to 400-450rwhp and then isn't "so" efficient after that. The GT67 is good through about 600rwhp. Since 7psi gets us to 415rwhp, the T60-1 IMO is on the virge of being optimally utilized.

But for a stock engine, the T60-1 is a perfect unit. And being that the GT67 uses the same housing, it's about $500 to have it rebuilt to the 67 if you ever build the engine to handle more power.

The T60-1 could push 30psi on a 4 cyl if need be. But engine flow and hp are part of the overall formula and 400 to 450rwhp is pushing the capabilities of that T60. Just so happens that 7psi is in that range for the hemi engine which starts to tap out that T60. I've had the T60 at 12psi and it didn't push the psi per HP increase that the GT67 does at that range.
hemifever is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2007, 08:26 PM   #10
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,440
what size is sts turbo

Just map it out and see the efficiency islands. They don't work out very good. I'm not saying it won't work, I am saying that is not the right size. It is too big.
1FASTV8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Premium Vendor Showcase
n2 Speed Edge InTune Edge OCPerformance Parts

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.