Input needed from other turbo members! - Hemi Truck Club
 
Go Back   Hemi Truck Club > HEMI | Performance Zone > Induction | Super Chargers, Turbo & Air Intakes

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-11-2007, 09:48 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Cochrane, Alberta
Posts: 980
Input needed from other turbo members!

Please read my post in the Chips/Programmers section. I think I may have solved the part-throttle boost / closed loop problem.

Please, if I've overlooked anything, please let me know ASAP.

Thanks.

http://hemitruckclub.infopop.cc/eve/...2/m/6590046015

FrostKing is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-13-2007, 07:57 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
kenihemi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Central East Coast
Posts: 2,369
Input needed from other turbo members!

You have my interest, but I have some questions.

I use the analog out of the lm-1 to feed the a/f input of my smt-6 for logging, so I can tap into that for whatever.

I'm curious as to how you think we can use that output (which is stickily a voltage simulating the wideband to narrow band) and feed it into the smt-6. Although, I never studied that analog out signal.

You can be very specific here since I have both the smt-6 and the lm1 and am familiar with them.
kenihemi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2007, 12:12 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Cochrane, Alberta
Posts: 980
Input needed from other turbo members!

I'm using the LC-1 in case that is what you had ment. It is the LC-1 itself that would maintain the 13:1 AFR (in my case) and not the SMT-6. The factory computer would still think the factory O2 sensor was indicating 14.7 AFR when in fact the LC-1 would send the same signal at 13:1 AFR (as is programmable for any mixture) This would not be mapable and would be a steady 13:1 AFR even a idle (bad fuel mileage) if it wasn't switched off with the SMT-6 in most conditions. The orange wire on the SMT-6 is a switchable output using programmable conditions. RPMs, MAP pressure, IAT or engine temp, throttle position, etc. (combinations of, as well)

I don't know if a code will pop for a bad catalytic convertor, though. I think it should still burn off the excess fuel if a person doesn't stay crazy rich all the time.
FrostKing is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-14-2007, 06:42 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Cary, NC
Posts: 873
Input needed from other turbo members!

It's all worth a shot. I spent a month with SplitSeconds o2 signal calibrator which modifies o2 signals when going in boost. The pcm would continue to input its own parameters, overwriting any adjustments I made to the o2 signal. No matter what I did to the o2 signal return, the pcm had no effect. On the actual signal wire, the slightest touch of voltage change on the o2 would cause an engine light. The smallest adjustment the splitsecond device could make was too large.

So good luck with it. I think there is a solution with the o2 signals and closed/open loop fooling.
hemifever is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2007, 10:15 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Cochrane, Alberta
Posts: 980
Input needed from other turbo members!

Update:

I programmed to LC-1 to output a signal 2.510V to 3.810v between 14.4-15.0 AFR. (very close match to factory O2 signal) The truck starts and idles smoothly with no factory O2 sensor and with no codes. I also made it idle at 13.0 AFR with no problems for 10 minutes. Test drive coming up!
FrostKing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2007, 10:45 PM   #6
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 211
Input needed from other turbo members!

the theory seems pretty sound, the computer doesn't know it is being tricked because it sees what it thinks it is supposed to see, what is going to happen when you go WOT, it should stop using the data from the LC-1? Good luck
sdogre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2007, 11:07 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Cochrane, Alberta
Posts: 980
Input needed from other turbo members!

Just finished a road test at a steady 13.0 AFR and it worked perfect! After 80% throttle the truck goes to open-loop and does what I have mapped in the SMT-6 (11.7 AFR) What I'm going to cure is when I go into boost while still in closed-loop. The computer is maintaining 14.7 on hills and the EGT goes through the roof. (or while doing a burn out at half throttle, in my case, that broke one of my pistons a few weeks back)

I'll have to keep an eye on the fuel trims to make sure I don't get a code from deviating too far from the factory base fuel map.

Now for the easy part, I will use the SMT-6 to switch between the two O2 sensors when the engine goes from vacuum to boost. The truck won't see a signal voltage change at all, instead the signal will cycle back and forth at something other than 14.7
FrostKing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2007, 07:32 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
kenihemi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Central East Coast
Posts: 2,369
Input needed from other turbo members!

Well, this sound real interesting. I gots a feeling that hemifever is already working on it, LOL!
kenihemi is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Premium Vendor Showcase
n2 Speed Edge InTune Edge OCPerformance Parts

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.