front mounted turbo - Hemi Truck Club
 
Go Back   Hemi Truck Club > HEMI | Performance Zone > Induction | Super Chargers, Turbo & Air Intakes

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-04-2007, 08:18 PM   #1
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 116
front mounted turbo

does any1 have a front mounted turbo if so i need some pics please and i would jut like to hear what all i need to do that

DODGER 03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-04-2007, 10:41 PM   #2
&quotAv\sFan&quot
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
front mounted turbo

I thought you were looking at the rear mount in the other topic
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2007, 09:13 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Cary, NC
Posts: 873
front mounted turbo

You'll need the same components with a front mount as you do a rear mount plus exhaust manifold welding to put the turbo.

The rear mount turbo's can run a smaller wastegate because the exhaust air is cooler making it denser. So you'll see basically the same flow through a 38mm wg rear mount as a 40mm front mount. The front mount will also need a higher AR than the rear mount IMO.

These engines really get into boost easy and you'll get uncontrollable boost if you're not spec'd right. A buddy of mine has a Turbonetics T61 front mount but has to run a 1.15 AR to keep it tame in his engine config. lol. The rear mounts in the configs I've worked with have a .96 AR. I've talked with two people that either had or switched out to a .82 or .83 AR for testing and had an incredible spool up but the top end suffered.
hemifever is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-07-2007, 10:00 PM   #4
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 116
front mounted turbo

i really want the sts kit bu its to much. if yall can find a used 1 or give me so suggestions on what i can do for exhaust i can get the turbonetics t-61 for about 700 or 800 on ebay but i just dont know what to do about the other stuff, if yall can give me some info on what all i need to buy to run like 5 to 6 plbs of boost i would appritiate it
DODGER 03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2007, 10:34 PM   #5
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 240
front mounted turbo

The STS kit is actually priced very good. You'll be hard pressed to set one up your self cheaper. Not saying you can't, but they have a proven setup
sharadonper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2007, 11:34 AM   #6
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,440
front mounted turbo

If you can weld and get that oil pump STS uses you can built a kit for about $1200.
1FASTV8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2007, 03:38 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Cary, NC
Posts: 873
front mounted turbo

There are plenty of aftermarket oil pumps that are identical to the STS pump. Most run about $250. Come to think of it, this pump isn't necessary for a front mount. The front mount oil line would come off the front of the block.
hemifever is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2007, 04:19 PM   #8
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,440
front mounted turbo

I know that, but if you were to build a remote setup it would cost you about $1200 maybe more cause I get wholesale turbos, but not much.
1FASTV8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Premium Vendor Showcase
n2 Speed Edge InTune Edge OCPerformance Parts

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.