What I'm not seeing? - Hemi Truck Club
 
Go Back   Hemi Truck Club > Technical Forums > Headlights and Lighting

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-18-2008, 01:51 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
spainy79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Sullivan, IN
Posts: 3,655
Garage
What I'm not seeing?

For those that have installed after market lights on the front end; where did you feed the wire that goes from the switch to the lights? Did you drill through the fire wall, pass it through a factory grommet or simply run it outside the door up through the top of the fender under the hood? I was just wondering. The lights I will be mounting on are 110 watt KC's.

spainy79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-18-2008, 05:08 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
1st HEMI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Columbus
Posts: 3,230
What I'm not seeing?

You not going though a relay? Are you using the stock switch? or just going from battery to switch to lights? I would try to use the factory grommet.
1st HEMI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2008, 08:02 AM   #3
&quotRANCHER&quot
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
What I'm not seeing?

I used the factory grommet on several sets of wires. Be sure you put a heavy enough in-line fuse in the wiring.
  Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-18-2008, 11:05 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
spainy79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Sullivan, IN
Posts: 3,655
Garage
What I'm not seeing?

Quote:
quote:Originally posted by 1st HEMI:
You not going though a relay? Are you using the stock switch? or just going from battery to switch to lights? I would try to use the factory grommet.
There is a 3 prong switch supplied with the lights (ground, ignition and relay). The relay is a 4 prong (ground, lights, battery and switch). These lights have been on 2 of my other trucks, neither were Dodge.
spainy79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2008, 04:37 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
megacab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 1,748
What I'm not seeing?

Wired mine to relay. Relay hooked to factory high beam lead behind head light. No wire in to cab. Lights always come one with high beams.
megacab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2008, 08:36 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
spainy79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Sullivan, IN
Posts: 3,655
Garage
What I'm not seeing?

Quote:
quote:Originally posted by megacab:
Wired mine to relay. Relay hooked to factory high beam lead behind head light. No wire in to cab. Lights always come one with high beams.
That's a good idea but I don't want to run those KC's unless I absolutely need them. They throw one hell of a beam.
spainy79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2008, 07:13 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
MikeHTally's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Tallahassee, FL
Posts: 5,452
Garage
What I'm not seeing?

Look inboard of the brake booster. There is a plastic panel about 2"x3" (stretched hexagon). It's the filler panel for the clutch linkage. Pop a hole through it for the switch to power the relay. Under the steering wheel behind the knee bolster is a four-wire harness, probably not used. The lime green/black stripe lead is a switched hot. Let that be your low-current supply to the relay so it can switch the battery to the driving lights.
MikeHTally is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2008, 03:04 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
nopeitsherhemi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Kalliesworld, Indiana
Posts: 13,314
Garage
What I'm not seeing?

Quote:
quote:Originally posted by MikeHTally:
Look inboard of the brake booster. There is a plastic panel about 2"x3" (stretched hexagon). It's the filler panel for the clutch linkage. Pop a hole through it for the switch to power the relay. Under the steering wheel behind the knee bolster is a four-wire harness, probably not used. The lime green/black stripe lead is a switched hot. Let that be your low-current supply to the relay so it can switch the battery to the driving lights.
now that is what i like about this place. saves the rest of us a lot of time 'figuring' it out.


nopeitsherhemi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2008, 05:01 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
spainy79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Sullivan, IN
Posts: 3,655
Garage
What I'm not seeing?

The sad part is I forgot about Mike's post and did it a different way.
spainy79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Premium Vendor Showcase
n2 Speed Edge InTune Edge OCPerformance Parts

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.