high beams and fog lights - Hemi Truck Club
 
Go Back   Hemi Truck Club > Technical Forums > Headlights and Lighting

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-09-2009, 10:54 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: dfw texas
Posts: 55
high beams and fog lights

i know there's a relay out there somewhere that allows vehicles with the 4 headlight set-up to keep the low beams on while the high beams are on, but does anyone know if there is a relay to keep our fog lights on while our high beams are on? if so, where would i find it? or do you know how i can go about wiring it up myself?

thanks in advance!

txbubba is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-09-2009, 03:14 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
afteamroper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Ellsworth AFB,SD/Helena, MT
Posts: 2,761
high beams and fog lights

I am sure if you got a wireing diagram you could figure out how to bybass what ever controls the fogs so that they could stay on all the time or you could rewire them to a switch in the cab so that you could control when they are on and off
afteamroper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2009, 05:18 PM   #3
&quotRANCHER&quot
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
high beams and fog lights

It was an easy fix on the 02 thru 05. Newer trucks are a lot different. I'll try to make a few calls tomorrow to see if it can be done some way other than through the computer.
  Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-09-2009, 10:33 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
madcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Royse City, TX
Posts: 8,558
high beams and fog lights

Quote:
quoter you could rewire them to a switch in the cab so that you could control when they are on and off
That would be the EASIEST way to do it... be sure to use an "ACC" circuit.


Here is a picture on how to do the jumper trick... only good for 02-05 Rams.

madcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2009, 10:37 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
HemiFun05's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: College Station, Texas
Posts: 13,175
high beams and fog lights

Quote:
quote:I am sure if you got a wireing diagram you could figure out how to bybass what ever controls the fogs so that they could stay on all the time or you could rewire them to a switch in the cab so that you could control when they are on and off
________________________________________________
This is what I would do; run heavy gauge wire from the fogs to a 30 amp relay, use inline fuse at battery connection and use heavy duty dash mounted rocker switch with a pilot lamp - then turn on any way you wish.
HemiFun05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2009, 10:01 AM   #6
Member
 
BergsBlueHemi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Nebo, Ky
Posts: 92
high beams and fog lights

Does anyone have anymore info on running the high and low beams on together? I sometimes have just barely pulled light switch lever and like how bright the lights look with both on. I just didn't know if that was possible? Thanks guys!
BergsBlueHemi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2009, 03:51 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Hemiguy05's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 982
high beams and fog lights

The only trouble I see with both on would be the heat may melt the headligth lense. Ive seen it done on some after market headlights on other models. There is a guy on ebay that sells a setup to run the fogs and high beams at the same time.
Hemiguy05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2009, 10:59 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
mksugls's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Bellevue, TN
Posts: 356
high beams and fog lights

The guy who owned my truck before me went to the trouble of having the dealership install the fog lights, but put in a seperate switch. It's not hooked up to an ACC circuit either. Weird to go to some of the trouble and finish rough. Looks good and it's a clean job though. I like having both on at the same time. Good Luck!!!
mksugls is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2009, 10:06 AM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: dfw texas
Posts: 55
high beams and fog lights

i'm thinking i might just add a toggle switch inline, but i don't know that i feel like doing that much work. thanks for the help guys.
txbubba is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2009, 03:19 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
megacab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 1,748
high beams and fog lights



Why mess with the low power fog lights ??
Buy a good set of driving lights with the relay kit and realy get some light !!
megacab is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Premium Vendor Showcase
n2 Speed Edge InTune Edge OCPerformance Parts

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.