Backup camera question - Hemi Truck Club
 
Go Back   Hemi Truck Club > Technical Forums > Headlights and Lighting

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-03-2019, 07:20 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Vermont
Posts: 17
Backup camera question

Hi All,
First post here but read the forum frequently. I have a 2017 Ram 2500 Laramie. I recently installed an aftermarket cargo-cam. I am a contractor and frequently carry lumber etc in the bed. I figured it would be handy to be able to keep an eye on the loads in case something was shifting etc.
I wired the cam to be powered with one of my Aux switches. To activate the cargo cam, I press the Aux switch, then "Apps" on my touchscreen, then "Rear Camera" and the cargo cam comes on. I had assumed that all I would need to do was hit the Aux switch and the camera would come on but this is still workable. With the Aux switch off, my backup camera works normally.
The problem I have is that when I activate the cargo cam, or the backup cam for that matter, while driving, the camera stays on for about 10 seconds an then shuts itself off.
Is there a setting somewhere that I can change to have the cameras stay on until I manually turn them off? I looked in the "Settings" menus but did not find it.
Thanks in advance
Tim

Powerwagontim is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-03-2019, 08:23 PM   #2
Greg
 
Redtruck-VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Virginia
Posts: 18,724
Garage
Welcome to the forum... I am absolutely no help. My brain dropped out of gear when you mentioned touch screen.
__________________
2003 RCSB, 2wd, "Pro-Street"
6.4L/cog driven V7-Ysi/46rh trans/HTH Truckarm coilover suspension. HP Tuning...

1# 2017 HTC FASTEST HEMI List....
Current 1/4 mile [email protected] (2018)
Current 60' PB 1.351 (2019) mechanical issue for 1/4m

HTC 2018 TOTY

Support vehicle- 2007 QC G56 4x4 diesel
Redtruck-VA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2019, 04:59 AM   #3
2012 Truck of the Year
Engine Specialist
 
charged392's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Fort pierce, FL
Posts: 17,108
Garage
Are you trying to control it thru the factory radio?
__________________
"CMR TUNER" [email protected] 1/4 with a 7.32 1/8 custom long/short bars by "Me" Turbocharged 392 on 9psi S475/96/1.32 . Running thru an A518! [email protected]
charged392 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-04-2019, 01:33 PM   #4
John
 
SUPER BEE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Meridian, MS
Posts: 3,570
Garage
__________________

SUPER BEE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2019, 01:36 PM   #5
John
 
SUPER BEE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Meridian, MS
Posts: 3,570
Garage
If your receiver has a connection for a forward camera you may get that connection to work better.
I have a forward camera on my truck, I can turn off or on with my receiver. Once the camera is on it stays on until I turn it off. It didn't require a seperate switch for power.
__________________

SUPER BEE is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Premium Vendor Showcase
n2 Speed Edge InTune Edge OCPerformance Parts

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.