Bleeding brakes???? - Hemi Truck Club
 
Go Back   Hemi Truck Club > Technical Forums > Running Gear | Brakes, Wheels and Tires

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-17-2015, 04:27 PM   #1
David
 
ATXHEMI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 2,225
Garage
Bleeding brakes????

I'm changing my calipers tomorrow. Is the a special procedure to bleed the brakes. I've never bled a system with abs. Any info is appropriated.

__________________
BV Heads-Greene Racing Cammed & Tuned.



ATXHEMI is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-17-2015, 08:49 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
HemiFun05's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: College Station, Texas
Posts: 13,175
Lightbulb

David somewhere back in the post archives there was an extensive write-up on doing complete brake jobs and change-overs including great pics. I know this reply is of little value but maybe it will jog someone's memory .



__________________
HemiFun05
'Doc'
"Christians Aren't Perfect - We Are Forgiven"
HemiFun05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2015, 12:41 PM   #3
2012 Truck of the Year
Engine Specialist
 
charged392's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Fort pierce, FL
Posts: 17,261
Garage
no since your only disconnecting lines/hoses just bleed it out right there. install part then open bleeder with cap off wait for fluid to run out then close bleeder. have someone pump the break 3 times slowly then hold third time down crack bleeder till fluid slows to almost drip close and repeat that step until no more air comes out. top off master and enjoy.
__________________
"CMR TUNER" [email protected] 1/4 with a 7.32 1/8 custom long/short bars by "Me" Turbocharged 392 on 9psi S475/96/1.32 . Running thru an A518! [email protected]
charged392 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-26-2015, 11:47 AM   #4
Red Trucker
 
HemiLonestar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: MD
Posts: 153
Unless you need to bleed the ABS pump. Proper way to do this is with a dealer computer, it's an option in the menu.
HemiLonestar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2015, 07:53 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Hemi-fied 03's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Temple
Posts: 173
Garage
I changed the brake fluid in my Explorer last weekend. Seems to me the process would be the same. Motive products has something that would help you out, and you can do it solo. Check them out. I was able to not only replace the fluid, but bleed the brake lines all at the same time. It really made that whole process much much easier.
__________________

Hemi-fied 03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Premium Vendor Showcase
n2 Speed Edge InTune Edge OCPerformance Parts

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.