Leveling kit install for 06-08 1500 - Hemi Truck Club

Go Back   Hemi Truck Club > Technical Forums > Suspension, sway bars, lowering and lift

Old 10-26-2007, 05:50 PM   #1

Here is a write up I did on another forum, it covers 2"-2.5" kits that fit ON TOP of the strut assembly

I finally got around to installing my 2" Truxxx leveling kit,.. FINALLY! This walkthrough should also work with the 2.5" TGC as well. Being a mechanic I will try to describe my best,

You will need,

Wrenches
13mm
15mm
17mm
18mm
13/16
22mm
24mm

Sockets-- I chose deep impact
13/16
7/8
15/16
1/2" drive wobble adapter

4lb hammer
1/2 drive air impact
1/2" 6" long extension
Pry bar
Ball joint/tie rod puller, I DO NOT recommend using a pickle fork, UNLESS its wide enough, you will cut your boots.

I loosened my wheel nuts first with my 1/2 ratchet wrench first, as I DO NOT use impact tools on my wheel nuts.

Jack up truck and place jack stand under the first side, do not place under lower control arm, but to the side.

Remove tire, place floor jack under lower control arm shock mount.

Item A
You can remove top or bottom,.. I chose the bottom. Remove the nut.

Item B You don't have to undo

Item C Use 13mm wrench and remove bolt holding the brake line mount, pull the steel line gently through so the nut is on the opposite side. You don't really need to do this,.. but I did anyways cause it was my first time.

Undo the clips holding the ABS sensor line

Not shown, remove the tie rod end with aforementioned tool, OR you can use a small 2 jaw puller, or a good smack with a 4lb hammer works also.

Lift up with the jack until the truck wants to lift a tad, Undo the upper ball joint, top 3 strut nuts, and lower strut mount. DO NOT place under lower ball joint, it makes everything unstable when removing the top joint.