light issues - Hemi Truck Club

Go Back   Hemi Truck Club > Technical Forums > Towing, Hauling and Hitching

Old 12-11-2007, 10:55 PM   #1

light issues

Ive been towing my car trailer for about 3 years, and it recently got to where the right side blinkers and brake light does not work on my trailer. I know its not my trailer cuse i hooked it up to another truck and it did fine. Ive tried both factory connectors on the truck and neither will work. Any ideas on what it could be. Oh and i have an 04 1500 ram hemi quad cab.

Hemiap is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 12-12-2007, 05:08 AM   #2

Garage
light issues

You should check the truck side wiring for your trailer wiring.

Any grey or green connections will increase resistance and cause problems.

A good spray contact cleaner on the plug connector and then diaelectric grease helps a lot.

Good luck.
D500 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2007, 10:12 AM   #3
&quotRANCHER&quot

light issues

If everything on the truck works and the trailer works on another vehicle it has to be a plug/connection somewhere.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 12-13-2007, 09:11 AM   #4

light issues

There is a specific trailer light fuse in your fuse box. I don't remember the number but it is on the back row closer to the firewall. I made Lowe's order me 2 enclosed trailers before I figured that one out. OOOOOOPS My bad
CHEMIGO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2007, 12:28 PM   #5

light issues

See my first thought was a fuse, but i pulled every single one out and nothing. My next step is to replace the plug cuse tryying to find the bad wire will be alot harder. Thanks for all the info guys, Ill try the cleaner and see if it helps...
Old 12-14-2007, 01:59 PM   #6

light issues