HTC News: March 10, 2019 - Hemi Truck Club

Go Back   Hemi Truck Club > HemiTruckClub Community Forums > HemiTruckClub Drivers Lounge (Community Discussions)

Old 03-10-2019, 07:42 AM   #1
Queen Kima - Whemi BOD

HTC News: March 10, 2019

We all know about Daylight's Savings Time: why, who does, who doesn't, the lovers, the haters (I'm a hater). Since I'm a nurse I found the health issues related to the time change.
Health

Justification for Daylight Saving Time to the effect that it is a more natural adjustment for people rising with the sun

DST has mixed effects on health. In societies with fixed work schedules it provides more afternoon sunlight for outdoor exercise. It alters sunlight exposure; whether this is beneficial depends on one's location and daily schedule, as sunlight triggers vitamin D synthesis in the skin, but overexposure can lead to skin cancer. DST may help in depression by causing individuals to rise earlier, but some argue the reverse. The Retinitis Pigmentosa Foundation Fighting Blindness, chaired by blind sports magnate Gordon Gund, successfully lobbied in 1985 and 2005 for U.S. DST extensions. DST shifts are associated with higher rates of ischemic stroke in the first two days after the shift, though not in the week thereafter.