Got a shifting issue (non hemi related) - Hemi Truck Club
 
Go Back   Hemi Truck Club > Technical Forums > Drivetrain, Differential and Transmission

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-09-2017, 06:06 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
pri_i_oh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Jefferson (NE Ohio)
Posts: 1,171
Got a shifting issue (non hemi related)

Ok guys its not a hemi but its still a mopar. Common saying in my house "mopar or no car"...lol

I got a 2004 jeep grand cherokee 4.0 that has a slight shifting issue. For some reason periodically when it goed to shift into the highest gear it either shifts real hard or it wont shift at all and just winds out. Im having a problem pin pointing it because i cant get it to do it to me. It happened to a buddy of mine when he drove it (i was in the passenger seat) and it happened to my wife today. If i remember correctly after talking to the dealer its a 42RE tranny.

Im thinking a couple possibilities:
1. Shift sensor
2. Governor
3. Theres a slight exhaust leak. Could it possibly be enough to not create enough back pressure and the PCM is saying "its not time to shift yet"?

pri_i_oh is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-09-2017, 07:00 PM   #2
Matt
 
MANual_puller's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Vinton
Posts: 2,652
Garage
Is this what you got to replace the rango or you still have that? Your issue is a Jeep thing..... I don't understand
__________________
2011 Ram 2500 ST 4x4, 5.7L Hemi, crew cab, short box, 4:10 gear ratio with rear LSD, 180 amp alternator, tow mirrors w/ puddle and signal lamps, popular options group, carpet deleted, Ranch Hand front bumper, 9500# winch, pair of 100w KC lights, Magnum RT steps, Line-x sprayed bedliner, stampede o/e style fender flares, Ram branded oversize rubber mud flaps, stampede smoked bug deflector, Dee Zee toolbox

MANual_puller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2017, 07:12 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
pri_i_oh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Jefferson (NE Ohio)
Posts: 1,171
Lol....no we still have the rango. Surprisingly, no issues with it for a while. That will probably go up for sale later this year. The jeep is for my son
pri_i_oh is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-09-2017, 08:20 PM   #4
2012 Truck of the Year
Engine Specialist
 
charged392's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Fort pierce, FL
Posts: 17,234
Garage
Ok the 42re is the same as a 46rh that I have just weaker lol. I assume you mean OD is not kicking in sometimes. That entire unit is in the tailhousing. They are known for tearing the apply piston seal and intermitantly having OD. May need to tear this one down and have a look.
__________________
"CMR TUNER" [email protected] 1/4 with a 7.32 1/8 custom long/short bars by "Me" Turbocharged 392 on 9psi S475/96/1.32 . Running thru an A518! [email protected]
charged392 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2017, 08:23 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
pri_i_oh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Jefferson (NE Ohio)
Posts: 1,171
Well crap.....looks like im pulling tge tranny out huh?
pri_i_oh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2017, 04:45 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
pri_i_oh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Jefferson (NE Ohio)
Posts: 1,171
Would I be better off finding a 46rh tranny?
pri_i_oh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2017, 05:46 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
pri_i_oh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Jefferson (NE Ohio)
Posts: 1,171
Also, do i have to pull the tranny to get to the inner workings of that tail section?
pri_i_oh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2017, 08:21 AM   #8
2012 Truck of the Year
Engine Specialist
 
charged392's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Fort pierce, FL
Posts: 17,234
Garage
To get to the internals of the tailshaft no you don't you can pull that off in the truck. It can be rebuilt but will need the alignment tool on reassembly of the unit in order for the output shaft to go in correctly on the truck. There's two sections inside that have to be inline so it will slip onto shaft.

The 46rh is going to be longer that the RE so it won't work without a few other things like shafts and what not
__________________
"CMR TUNER" [email protected] 1/4 with a 7.32 1/8 custom long/short bars by "Me" Turbocharged 392 on 9psi S475/96/1.32 . Running thru an A518! [email protected]
charged392 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2017, 09:11 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
pri_i_oh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Jefferson (NE Ohio)
Posts: 1,171
Ok cool. I dont really have the fascilities for dropping a tranny. My wife just td me today that it did it to her in 2nd gear, not OD. So i think im just gonna start by replacing the solenoids. Then if it continues but only in OD ill know it has to do with that tail unit
pri_i_oh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2017, 09:25 PM   #10
2012 Truck of the Year
Engine Specialist
 
charged392's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Fort pierce, FL
Posts: 17,234
Garage
It may need a band adjustment only. It's on the side of the trans and it's very easy to do. Will need an inch pound torque wrench though
__________________
"CMR TUNER" [email protected] 1/4 with a 7.32 1/8 custom long/short bars by "Me" Turbocharged 392 on 9psi S475/96/1.32 . Running thru an A518! [email protected]
charged392 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Premium Vendor Showcase
n2 Speed Edge InTune Edge OCPerformance Parts

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.