06 Ram broken Transmission Pressure Sensor now no go - Hemi Truck Club
 
Go Back   Hemi Truck Club > Technical Forums > Drivetrain, Differential and Transmission

Like Tree2Likes
  • 1 Post By charged392
  • 1 Post By blackdak8
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-22-2020, 08:33 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Location: CENTRAL, KY
Posts: 7
06 Ram broken Transmission Pressure Sensor now no go

My son called me to say his 06 Ram 1500 hemi Quad cab 2WD wasn't shifting right and wouldn't go very fast. Then I get the rest of the story.
He was meeting some farm equipment on our narrow road about 1-2 miles from our house. He got over too far into the ditch but easily pulled out and got home, but said it wasn't acting right. He sent me a video showing the RPM going up but not moving. I told him to leave it parked until I got home to look at it. When he got into the ditch, he scooped up some muddy turf with the crossmember. The mud ball had broken off the Transmission Pressure Sensor.
The next day I got a new pressure switch and installed. Unfortunately NO Go.
Unhooked battery to try to rest things but no change. It will not move in reverse or ANY forward gears. It has 5v at the sensor. It is still throwing a bunch of codes that refer back to the pressure switch. Anyone have any ideas where to check next? Any help would be greatly appreciated.

blackdak8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-22-2020, 09:30 PM   #2
2012 Truck of the Year
Engine Specialist
 
charged392's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Fort pierce, FL
Posts: 17,470
Garage
Double check wiring make sure didn’t pull out and pins
Redtruck-VA likes this.
__________________
"CMR TUNER" [email protected] 1/4 with a 7.32 1/8 custom long/short bars by "Me" Turbocharged 392 on 9psi S475/96/1.32 . Running thru an A518! [email protected]
charged392 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 06:22 AM   #3
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Location: CENTRAL, KY
Posts: 7
Thanks. I did briefly check for voltage at connector while unplugged. I got 5v on two of the pins using a frame ground reference. Working to find wiring diagram to check wiring continuity from connector to pcm.
blackdak8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old Yesterday, 06:25 AM   #4
2012 Truck of the Year
Engine Specialist
 
charged392's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Fort pierce, FL
Posts: 17,470
Garage
If you have voltage it’s most likely wiring good. So the truck won’t move at all forward or reverse correct?
__________________
"CMR TUNER" [email protected] 1/4 with a 7.32 1/8 custom long/short bars by "Me" Turbocharged 392 on 9psi S475/96/1.32 . Running thru an A518! [email protected]
charged392 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 06:36 AM   #5
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Location: CENTRAL, KY
Posts: 7
Unfortunately correct. Will not move in R, D, 2, or 1. Rpm will just go up, then throw codes all referring to the pressure switch and not shifting into gear. I'll have to pull codes again to post since my phone based reader didn't save them.

The sensor I bought was from Advanced Auto since was only place close that had one in stock. Hate to buy another $50 sensor just to eliminate the possibility of buying a bad sensor. Could it possibly be bad out of the box?
blackdak8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 11:16 AM   #6
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Location: CENTRAL, KY
Posts: 7
I finally found where my reader stored the previous code scans. I had also just unhooked the battery for a few minutes prior to testing and reading these codes.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_3668.jpg (52.3 KB, 3 views)
blackdak8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 11:22 AM   #7
John
 
SUPER BEE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Meridian, MS
Posts: 3,766
Garage
Yes, unfortunately even new parts can be bad. I stay with Mopar sensors since I see where some people who use aftermarket sensors have problems. Hope you can get it sorted out.
__________________

SUPER BEE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 11:37 AM   #8
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Location: CENTRAL, KY
Posts: 7
Also found a copy or factory service manual that I'll try to work thru but any insight would be greatly appreciated. We bought this for my son to learn on when getting his license. It was high mileage (160K) and has been absolute nightmare with non-stop problems.
In contrast my 2004 has been great. Only basic wear items and an EGR valve in its 150K mile history but looks horrible after a bad hail storm did $11k damage to it. I bought it back from insurance because mechanically it was just to good to let go.
blackdak8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 04:40 AM   #9
2012 Truck of the Year
Engine Specialist
 
charged392's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Fort pierce, FL
Posts: 17,470
Garage
Well here is the real crap part. The truck has a mechanical 3rd gear meaning even if you unplug the trans plug it should have reverse and at least 3rd gear it’s limp home mode. The fact that you don’t have that worries me as you might be looking at a trans.
__________________
"CMR TUNER" [email protected] 1/4 with a 7.32 1/8 custom long/short bars by "Me" Turbocharged 392 on 9psi S475/96/1.32 . Running thru an A518! [email protected]
charged392 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 06:00 AM   #10
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Location: CENTRAL, KY
Posts: 7
Yes that is my fear. I didn't get home in time to look at it last night but did have a thought as I was heading to bed. I do have an 04 Ram that I suspect has the same pressure sensor and works perfectly. I think next step if it's the same part is to just swap that sensor in to rule out a bad new sensor. Then dig in on ringing out the wiring from sensor to pcm. Thanks for the help and support.
Redtruck-VA likes this.
blackdak8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Premium Vendor Showcase
n2 Speed Edge InTune Edge OCPerformance Parts

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.