To Bridge or not - Hemi Truck Club
 
Go Back   Hemi Truck Club > General Maintenance | Owner Info > Mobile Electronics and Entertainment Systems

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-21-2008, 11:31 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
Hayabusa1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Dayton, Ohio
Posts: 114
To Bridge or not

Guys-

I am finally getting around to putting in my underseat box with twin 10s. Should I bridge them off my Kenwood amp, or let them run solo??

Thanks

R

Hayabusa1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-21-2008, 04:52 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
sppb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ogdensburg, NJ
Posts: 1,738
To Bridge or not

what are the coils configurations?
single 4ohm or dual?
sppb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2008, 06:21 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
Hayabusa1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Dayton, Ohio
Posts: 114
To Bridge or not

sppb-

They are dual coils. When I had them in my other car, ( A large square box), the shop I bought them from suggested bridging them. Since I really don't know the benefits, I just did it. When I hooked these up yesterday, I just did them straight, but didn't even have time to mess with them as we had a family emergency.

The speakers themselves have two sets of hook ups on them. I assume that means dual? If it helps...my new underseat box is the non-ported one.

R
Hayabusa1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-22-2008, 11:56 PM   #4
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 2,769
To Bridge or not

EMS HEMI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2008, 10:46 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
whitelight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 4,847
To Bridge or not

Need to know the impedance on each of the coils of each sub (how many ohms each). Is it a dual 4 ohm coil or a dual 2 ohm? What model is your amp and is it 1 ohm or 2 ohm stable?

Dual voice coil subs are always bridged, there is just no other way to power them. You just have to know if you will be doing it in series or parallel.
whitelight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2008, 11:23 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
Hayabusa1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Dayton, Ohio
Posts: 114
To Bridge or not

All-

I bridged the amp, then connected the subs together at the box. It sounds incredible. Shakes the truck! I really appreciate everyone's help.

Now if I can just talk the wife into my Diablo tuner.....


Thanks again-

Ryan
Hayabusa1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2008, 12:39 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
whitelight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 4,847
To Bridge or not

Quote:
quote:Originally posted by Hayabusa1:
All-

I bridged the amp, then connected the subs together at the box. It sounds incredible. Shakes the truck! I really appreciate everyone's help.

Now if I can just talk the wife into my Diablo tuner.....


Thanks again-

Ryan
Good deal. As long as they sound good. Don't really know what bridging an amp means, or what connecting them at the box does, but if you are happy, then by all means, turn it up!
whitelight is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Premium Vendor Showcase
n2 Speed Edge InTune Edge OCPerformance Parts

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.