stock H/U going, need advice on nav - Hemi Truck Club
 
Go Back   Hemi Truck Club > General Maintenance | Owner Info > Mobile Electronics and Entertainment Systems

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-12-2008, 09:43 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
Jhrod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Meshoppen, PA
Posts: 331
stock H/U going, need advice on nav

In my 07, I have the base single cd with sirius and 4 speakers. Not so good as far as quality of sound. Now that My vw is gone the hemi is my DD and it's time to upgrade. I'll be installing an in dash screen (narrowed down to JVC or pioneer) with dvd, nav, ipod, and sirius ready. I found the dash kit but my question is on the install. Crotchfield says that there is no constant 12v's available and wants to sell me a contraption to for 70 bux to make one. There's gotta be an easier way. Any idea how to reuse the factory sirius antenna ?? Door speakers are next too so any reccommendations will be appreciated
Any tips, tricks, or advice on this upgrade will be appreciated. I'd like to order asap

Jhrod is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-12-2008, 02:38 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
UsmcMan96's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 3,641
stock H/U going, need advice on nav

Not sure about the $70 addition, but if Crutchfield reccomneds it, you may need it. I believe you can re-use the factory Sirius antennae but am unsure. As far as replacement door speakers, look for a deal on Crutchfield, I was able to get the Infiniti 6x9's for the doors, 5.25s for the rear and some 3.5's for the dash ofr 70% off last year.
UsmcMan96 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2008, 04:25 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
sppb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ogdensburg, NJ
Posts: 1,738
stock H/U going, need advice on nav

hard to believe there in no constant 12V but if it's true you just conect it straight to the battery with a fused wire.
not sure about the sirius i don't know of any adapter but you can get a compatible tuner and attena for cheep on Ebay.
sppb is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-12-2008, 08:01 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Jhrod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Meshoppen, PA
Posts: 331
stock H/U going, need advice on nav

CORRECTION
There is no switched ACC power in this harness. The extra wiring kit is a CAN BUS which creates a swithced source. Can't i just add a wire from the fuse panel thats switched and can handle the load of the h/u?
Jhrod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2008, 09:11 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
rdsetgo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: North Pole, Alaska
Posts: 10,010
stock H/U going, need advice on nav

That is not true about the ACC power how could the radio keep time and when you push the time button with the truck off it will tell you the time.... As far as a wiring hook up you should be able to get one from just about anywhere. I am not sure about the Sirius end...
rdsetgo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2008, 10:19 PM   #6
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 2,769
stock H/U going, need advice on nav

EMS HEMI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2008, 08:16 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
Jhrod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Meshoppen, PA
Posts: 331
stock H/U going, need advice on nav

Quote:
quote:Originally posted by rdsetgo:
That is not true about the ACC power how could the radio keep time and when you push the time button with the truck off it will tell you the time.... As far as a wiring hook up you should be able to get one from just about anywhere. I am not sure about the Sirius end...
Its keeps time because it has a constant source but no switched source so the a/m radio will not know when to shut off. Don't ask me how the factory one does but thats what i get out it anyway
Jhrod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2008, 03:41 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
rdsetgo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: North Pole, Alaska
Posts: 10,010
stock H/U going, need advice on nav

It does have a swithced source, but what I think they are talking about is the radio turns off after it times out or when you open the door after you shut off the turck. This is for 2007 and up!
rdsetgo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2008, 04:08 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
sppb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ogdensburg, NJ
Posts: 1,738
stock H/U going, need advice on nav

Quote:
quote:There is no switched ACC power in this harness. The extra wiring kit is a CAN BUS which creates a swithced source. Can't i just add a wire from the fuse panel thats switched and can handle the load of the h/u?
Ok, that i understand, the CAN BUS sends an coded signal to the Head unit to turn on or off, and uses the permanent 12V.
You can connect it to the fuse panel and a 5 amp fuse it's eneugh all it does is switch a small internal relay
sppb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2008, 04:26 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
sppb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ogdensburg, NJ
Posts: 1,738
stock H/U going, need advice on nav

actually what i meant was the Ignition sends a CAN BUS signal to the head unit, the factory head unit has a built in CAN BUS decoder.
A couple of other factory stuff might not work without it like satellite radio, shut off delay,navigation and video steering wheel remote, as they all use CAN bus to communicate with the head unit.
sppb is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Premium Vendor Showcase
n2 Speed Edge InTune Edge OCPerformance Parts

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.