Random ticking sound - Hemi Truck Club
 
Go Back   Hemi Truck Club > General Maintenance | Owner Info > Mobile Electronics and Entertainment Systems

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-13-2014, 02:56 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
HEMI COMMANDER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Auburn, Georgia
Posts: 861
Random ticking sound

Ok guys and Gals, when it comes to stereos I am by far not to smart so I need some help and I need the answers dumbed down for me. My 2011 with the Alpine system will randomly start this god awful ticking sound that can best be described as an automatic weapon being used and then it will just stop. The sound of this ticking is not affected when you turn up or down the volume only when you turn off the stereo or the truck. I spoke to a guy out here at a audio shop and he said that the factory AMP might be going bad or have a lose connection in it some where. Any suggestion?

__________________
GO DAWGS GO

RIP Commander RIP!

New Ride
2011 1500 SLT-Satellite Radio, Nitto Terra GrapplerTires... Working on MODS

HEMI COMMANDER is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-13-2014, 03:52 PM   #2
2012 Truck of the Year
Engine Specialist
 
charged392's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Fort pierce, FL
Posts: 17,313
Garage
Sounds like an issue with an amp only real way to tell is unplug it when it happening.
__________________
"CMR TUNER" [email protected] 1/4 with a 7.32 1/8 custom long/short bars by "Me" Turbocharged 392 on 9psi S475/96/1.32 . Running thru an A518! [email protected]
charged392 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2014, 07:18 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
HEMI COMMANDER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Auburn, Georgia
Posts: 861
Don't know where the amp is located. If I unplug it will I lose all sound since it is the factory amp?
__________________
GO DAWGS GO

RIP Commander RIP!

New Ride
2011 1500 SLT-Satellite Radio, Nitto Terra GrapplerTires... Working on MODS

HEMI COMMANDER is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-13-2014, 07:40 PM   #4
john
 
wolf_with_the_red_rose1969's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: sylva
Posts: 1,084
Garage
Send a message via Yahoo to wolf_with_the_red_rose1969
Start by checking your ground wires and the filter capacitor. To me it sounds like a the filter capacitor is breaking down.
__________________
wolf_with_the_red_rose1969 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2014, 09:32 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
HEMI COMMANDER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Auburn, Georgia
Posts: 861
Where and what is that?
__________________
GO DAWGS GO

RIP Commander RIP!

New Ride
2011 1500 SLT-Satellite Radio, Nitto Terra GrapplerTires... Working on MODS

HEMI COMMANDER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2014, 10:13 PM   #6
john
 
wolf_with_the_red_rose1969's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: sylva
Posts: 1,084
Garage
Send a message via Yahoo to wolf_with_the_red_rose1969
it is a capacitor that is usually mounted in Parallel somewhere on the ground side of your receiver that filters any stray AC/RF as I said also check all of your grounds
__________________
wolf_with_the_red_rose1969 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Premium Vendor Showcase
n2 Speed Edge InTune Edge OCPerformance Parts

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.