Amp bypass and speaker rewire. - Hemi Truck Club
 
Go Back   Hemi Truck Club > General Maintenance | Owner Info > Mobile Electronics and Entertainment Systems

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-19-2019, 07:56 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
StreetWiseMI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 3
Amp bypass and speaker rewire.

My Ram came with an infinity sound system. Outdated as it is, i have put in a new touchscreen hud. Amp is out, speakers are set to be wired through. Anyone have any suggestions on how to get the new speaker wire through the rubber door boot with minimal frustration? I literally just have to reconnect the new wire to the unit and im done but cant see an easy route to run the wire. 🤔

StreetWiseMI is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-19-2019, 08:18 PM   #2
2012 Truck of the Year
Engine Specialist
 
charged392's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Fort pierce, FL
Posts: 17,313
Garage
There really is not an easy way to do it as it’s an actual plug type setup. If there is extra room in the plastic plug you can drill thru it seen it done that way but makes it so you cannot take the door off without cutting the wires. You can also drill a small hole just below the plug and same woth the door
__________________
"CMR TUNER" [email protected] 1/4 with a 7.32 1/8 custom long/short bars by "Me" Turbocharged 392 on 9psi S475/96/1.32 . Running thru an A518! [email protected]
charged392 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2019, 08:05 AM   #3
Junior Member
 
StreetWiseMI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 3
Well i finagled and explored. Got the boots to pop off the body and ran wires from speaker harness all the way through to dash unit with a few pieces of hangar. So far so good for the front. Now onto the rear. May update. Will help if anyone is looking for tips in this area. Beats paying $800 for some shmuck to hack ur system up. 👍
StreetWiseMI is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-20-2019, 11:20 AM   #4
2012 Truck of the Year
Engine Specialist
 
charged392's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Fort pierce, FL
Posts: 17,313
Garage
On my truck I actually just tapped the factory wires but I’m not running any crazy amount of power either. Good you found a way thru though
__________________
"CMR TUNER" [email protected] 1/4 with a 7.32 1/8 custom long/short bars by "Me" Turbocharged 392 on 9psi S475/96/1.32 . Running thru an A518! [email protected]
charged392 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2019, 11:43 AM   #5
Gold-Member
 
kcd1369's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Brandon, FL
Posts: 4,055
Garage
I cut a slit in the boots when I ran my new wires in my 03 wire tied the cables to the rubber sleeve. Whenever I get around to putting my interior back in my 05 I will be running new 16AWG speaker wire in this one too. But it should be much easier with the complete interior out of it to do it correctly like you did. Even the seat belts are out so nothing is in the way.
__________________
05 1500 SLT Quad Black on Black | Pace Setter Long Tubes | Magna Flow Cat Back | Doug's Electric Cutout | Custom Ram Air Hood | Spyder LED Tails | Spec-D Black Projectors W/Halos | Flex-A-Lite E-Fan |Jet 180 Stat | K&N CAI | 20 inch wheels | Comp 268 Cam W/6.1 push rods and springs | Diablo Trinity | Custom Tune by Charged392.





kcd1369 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Premium Vendor Showcase
n2 Speed Edge InTune Edge OCPerformance Parts

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.